Fall Guy

The Detective Inspector Carol Ashton Series, Book 16

By Claire McNab

For most people, to know Milton Ryce is to loathe him.

Now in his mid-forties, the practical joker has never outgrown the adolescent behavior that amused him so much as a teenager. Embarrassing others has been his favorite past time, and he delights in coming up with elaborate schemes for setting up his “friends” as fall guys.

Extremely generous with his money, Milton has bought influence in high places and a circle of well-connected friends and business acquaintances. When he plunges to his death while sky diving, no one seems particularly surprised to find that he was murdered.

Detective Inspector Carol Ashton finds a long list of possible murderers—a list that includes family members who are positively jostling for position to be at the top of the list.

Then an elaborate practical joke is played out at Milton’s funeral by his son, Ted, and more evidence begins piling up against him. Carol must act quickly to find out if Ted is indeed his father’s killer—or if he is simply being set up as yet another ‘fall guy’…

buy this book

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well.