Image of a heart with rainbows

What are the levels I can achieve in the challenge?

We’re so glad you asked!

There are five levels with increasing difficulty, which you earn by fulfilling the requirements listed below and notifying us by submitting a Level-up form. (In addition to giving you a moment to bask in your accomplishment, this form also enters you for the end of year prize drawings.)

IHS Reading Challenge Garnet Level Graphic




Garnet Level: Read at least 15 books from 15 different categories.






IHS Reading Challenge Topaz Level Graphic




Topaz Level: Read at least 25 books from 25 different categories.






IHS Reading Challenge Sapphire Level Graphic




Sapphire Level: Read at least 50 books from 50 different categories.






IHS Reading Challenge Amethyst Level Graphic




Amethyst Level: Read at least 100 books from 100 different categories.






IHS Reading Challenge Emerald Level Graphic




*Emerald Level: Read at least 200 books from 100 different categories.





As you achieve each level, you can download the corresponding badge by right-clicking on the image above. Feel free to display your badge on social media, websites, and/or blogs to tell others about your achievement!

*You don’t have to read two books in every category to reach Emerald. As long as you read at least one book in each of the 100 categories and all 200 books fit into any of the 100 reading challenge categories, you’re fine!

Other questions we’ve answered about the reading challenge:
share on:

← All FAQ